the good songs weren’t written about you, they’ll never be about you

Happy Christmas guys.

Here’s a song that was playing in my head when I woke up this morning. We have to time travel to early 2000’s for Idlewild’s ‘American English’, my go-to, all-time-favourite song.

You know how sometimes when you’re by yourself, and you’re walking the long way home at night, or you’re in a slow bus ride staring out windows, or you’re generally in one of those contemplative moods? And a song plays in your mental background like a soundtrack to this quite emo scene? This is my soundtrack (and I get the irony of the lyrics). Especially this last middle eight bridge bit.

MP3: Idlewild – American English

PS,
I just realised that after years of loving and lapping up every Idlewild album, I actually have no idea how they look like. Never watched a music video or performance video before.  And I’ve been harbouring a man crush on singer Roddy Woomble’s voice all these years.

Posted on December 25, 2011, in Download, Indie Snob, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment